• Share it:

Olympique Lyon

Official name: Olympique Lyonnais
Founded: 1950
President: Jean-Michel Aulas (since 1987)
Coach: Alain Perrin (since 2007) Honours: six-time French league champions (2002,2003, 2004,2005, 2006, 2007), three-time French cup winners (1964, 1967, 1973), French league cup winners (2001).
Current stars: Juninho, Fred, Fabio Grosso, Milan Baros, Sylvain Wiltord, Kader Keita, Gregory Coupet.
Former stars: Manuel Amoros, Vikash Dhorasoo, Aime Jacquet, Bernard Lacombe, Patrice Loko, Bruno N’Gotty, Benoit Pedretti, Jean Tigana, Sonny Anderson, Giovane Elber, Edmilson, Marc-Vivien Foe, Michael Essien, Abedi Pele, Mahamadou Diarra, Frederic Kanoute, John Carew, Roberto Cabanas.
Miscellaneous: Lyon’s number 16 shirt has been retired in honour of former goalkeeper Luc Borrelli. The number 17 shirt that belonged to Cameroon’s Marc-Vivien Foe, who died of heart failure during a FIFA Confederations Cup match at the Stade Gerland in 2003, is also no longer in use.