• Share it:

Olympic Football Tournaments Beijing 2008

The Organising Committee for the Olympic Football Tournaments, chaired for the first time by FIFA Vice-President Dr Mong Joon Chung, met on Saturday, 27 October at the Home of FIFA in Zurich.
At the meeting, a delegation from the local organising committee for the Beijing Olympic Games (BOCOG) delivered a detailed report on the state of preparations that was greatly appreciated by the committee members.
Thirteen of the 28 participating teams have been determined to date. Apart from hosts China PR, six teams in the men’s and five in the women’s tournament have already qualified for the Olympic Football Tournaments Beijing 2008. For more information on the qualifiers, please visit:
http://en.fifa.com/menolympic/ qualifiers/index.html
For the women’s tournament, a play¬off between Denmark and Sweden was held in November. The intercontinental play-off between the second team from CONMEBOL’s qualifying matches (Brazil) and the runner-up from CAF- where the qualifying competition is still underway -will be staged in Beijing in April 2008.
All of the confederations’ preliminary round matches will have been completed by March 2008.
The Olympic Football Tournaments Beijing 2008 will be held from 6 to 23 August with the matches staged in six stadiums in five different cities: Beijing (National Stadium, the scene of the men’s final, and the Workers’ Stadium), Tianjin (in the same stadium that staged five matches in the FIFA Women’s World Cup China 2007), Shanghai, Shenyang and Qinhuangdao.
The draw will take place in Beijing on 20 April 2008.