• Share it:


CONCACAF, in collaboration with the United States Soccer Federation, hosted an inaugural team manager workshop in Los Angeles from 18-20 January. A total of 68 team managers representing 34 CONCACAF associations attended the three-day workshop to obtain an overview of the team manager’s role as well as to learn how to raise the quality of team administration within their own associations. The workshop was also designed to further develop team managers throughout the confederation in preparation for events such as the CONCACAF qualifiers for the 2010 FIFA World Cup™ and the Olympic Football Tournaments, as well as for the U-20 and U-17 regional qualifying tournaments for both women and men.
CONCACAF recently announced the dates for the 2008 CONCACAF Futsal Championship that will take place at the Domo Polideportivo in Guatemala City between 2 and 8 June. It will be the first CONCACAF tournament in Guatemala since 1996, although the Domo also hosted a total of 80,740 spectators on the 12 matchdays of the 2000 FIFA Futsal World Championship, which was won by Spain. Costa Rica, Cuba, Mexico, Panama, USA and two more Caribbean teams (from the preliminary qualification in Guyana, 5-9 March) will join the Guatemalan hosts in this year’s CONCACAF tournament that will see three countries qualify for the FIFA Futsal World Cup Brazil 2008.
CONCACAF President Jack Austin Warner recently launched a Caribbean youth development programme called Digicel Kick Start Clinics, with the first of seven stops held in Guyana from 7 to 9 January. The Digicel Clinics, conducted by former England international John Barnes, offered talented Caribbean Under-20 players the chance to learn invaluable skills, while at the same time being afforded the chance to realise their dream of becoming professional footballers. The Digicel Clinics also took place in Haiti from 11 to 14 January before going on to Barbados (16-19 January), St. Kitts and Nevis (21-24 January), Antigua and Barbuda (26-29 January), Suriname (31 January-3 February), Trinidad and Tobago (8-11 February) and finally Jamaica (13-16 February).