• Share it:


The USA finished first at the 2008 CONCACAF Women’s Olympic Qualification after a 6-5 victory on penalties over Canada, following a 1 -1 draw at the end of normal and extra time in the final held at the Estadio Olimpico Benito Juarez in Ciudad Juarez, Mexico on 12 April. This is the Stars & Stripes’ second consecutive CONCACAF Women’s Olympic Tournament title after claiming the inaugural event held in Costa Rica in 2004. Prior to the 2008 final, the USA and Canada had already qualified for the Women’s Olympic Football Tournament Beijing 2008, after defeating Costa Rica and Mexico, respectively, in the CONCACAF tournament semi-finals in Ciudad Juarez on 9 April. In the third-place match at the CONCACAF tournament, Maria Lourdes Gordiilo scored in the 69th minute to give Mexico a 1-0 win over Costa Rica.
Ashley Folkes was re-elected as President of the Grenada Football Association (GFA) in St George’s, Grenada this past April. Folkes won the presidency 17-16, defeating former GFA Vice-President Cheney Joseph in a second run-off following a first-round deadlock. Along with Folkes, the new GFA Executive list is as follows: Marlon Glean, First Vice-President; Adrian Mitchell, Second Vice-President; and Directors-Carl Phillip, Bernadine Andrews, Jester Noel, Wayne James and Phillip James.
Hankook Verdes captured Belize’s RFG Insurance League title after defeating Belize Defence Force 2-1 on aggregate in the 2007-2008 finals. After the first leg ended 1 -1, a goal by Orlando Jimenez sealed a 1-0 triumph in the second encounter at San Ignacio’s Norman Broaster Stadium on 14 April. The last time the club won Belize’s national title was in 1986 when they were known as Leslie’s Verdes.