• Share it:

Adidas Tango Mundial: Euro 1984

adidas-tango-mundial Being used for the first time at the 1984 European Championships, the Tango Mundial ball was the first ever non-leather ball which was employed in an International tournament. This ball was coated with a polyurethane coating which totally made it water proof.
While this ball was used much recently as compared to its Tango Spain and Tango River plate counterparts, the Tango Mundial ball is not the one which you could find with ease in the modern market. Hence, when it comes to popularity, this is one of the least famous balls being employed at the European Championships.
As for the construction, this ball is similar to its Tango predecessors in all but two respects. First, as was the norm those days, the name Tango differentiated it from its counterparts. Secondly, the name of the tournament was embossed on the football in red colors.
While EURO 1984 provided this football the ultimate fame, very few football fans know of the fact that this football was also used in the 1984/85 La Liga. However, starting from the era of Tango Mexico which started in 86, the use of this football came to a halt.
European Championships 1984
The 1984 European Championship was hosted by France. Although the likes of West Germany were also aspiring to host this competition, France were given the honor at the start of 1984.
This tournament was a major occasion for France for a myriad of reasons. In addition to the fact that they hosted their first ever International football tournament, 1984 saw France being crowned as European Champions for the first time in their history.
Contrary to the 1980 European Championship – which was marred with fewer goals, less fan enthusiasm, and hooliganism, this competition enjoyed ultimate success. With an average attendance of nearly 40,000 fans in every game of the tournament, it is very easy to assume that this tournament was a real success.
In addition to France who qualified for the tournament automatically after being announced as the hosts, there were 7 more teams which were taking part in this tournament. Being the reigning Champions, West Germany were favorites to lift their 3rd European title.
However, much to the surprise of the neutral, the West German side finished 3rd in their group, behind the likes of Spain and Portugal. Spain finished as the winner of Group B and faced home nation France in the final.
Led by the mesmerizing forward Michel Platini – who would go on to become the President of UEFA Governing body, later on, France had upset the odds on their road to the Final.
With 8-goals in the opening 3 matches of the competition – which included hat-tricks against Belgium and Yugoslavia, Platini was definitely the major man standing between Spain and glory. He continued his fine form in the final which was played at the Parc des Princes, in Paris. The Frenchman opened the scoring for France in the 57th minute, after which there was one-way traffic for the home side. Thus, while Bellone had fortified the victory with his goal at the 90-minute mark, it were the efforts of Platini that brought France their first ever European title.