• Share it:

The eighth President

Joseph S. Blatter is only the eighth president in the 103-year history of world football’s governing body. He was first appointed to the helm of FIFA in Paris on 8 June 1998. Four years later, in Seoul on 29 May 2002, the associations confirmed his position. The extraordinary congress in Doha in 2003 voted to prolong that mandate from four to five years so that the presidential election would take place in the year after the termination of the four-year financial period and thus more not affect the FIFA World Cup TM.

Former FIFA Presidents:
Robert Guerin (France, 1904 – 1906)
Daniel Burley Woolfall (England, 1906 – 1918)
Jules Rimet (France, 1921 – 1954)
Rodolphe William Seeldrayers (Belgium, 1954 – 1955)
Arthur Drewry (England, 1955 – 1961)
Sir Stanley Rous (England, 1961 – 1974)
Joao Havelange (Brazil, 1974-1998)