• Share it:

Red Bull Salzburg

Founded: as SV Austria Salzburg in 1993. Red Bull took over the majority of shares on 3 June 2005 and the club was renamed Red Bull Salzburg.
Stadium: Bullenarena (built between 2001 and 2003, extension to be completed in June 2007). Capacity: 18,200 (will be increased to 30,000 seats for EURO 2008).
Honours: Austrian League champions (1994, 1995, 1997), UEFA Cup runners-up (1994).
President: Rudi Theierl
Consultant: Helmut Sandrock
Coaches: Giovanni Trapattoni, Lothar Matthaus
Sporting director: Oliver Kreuzer
Most famous players: Vratislav Lokvenc (Czech Republic), Johan Vonlanthen (Switzerland), Alexander Zickler, Thomas Linke (both Germany), Niko Kovac(Croatia), Alessandro “Alex” Santos (Japan), Jorge Vargas (Chile).
Famous former players: Oliver Bierhoff, Heiko Lassig (both Germany), Edi Glieder, Andreas Ivanschitz (both Austria).