• Share it:


Honours: Italian champions (1987, 1990). Serie A runners-up (1968, 1975, 1988, 1989). UEFA Cup winners (1989). Coppa Italia winners (1962,1976,1987). Italian super cup winners (1991). Serie B champions (1950).
History: In 1904, a group of English sailors and local Neapolitans founded Naples Foot-Ball and Cricket Club, dropping the “Cricket” a few years later. In 1912, following a dispute between the English and Italian elements in the club, a spin-off club, US Internazionale Napoli, was created.
The city had two rival clubs until a merger in 1922 created FBC Internaples. Four years later the club became Associazione Calcio Napoli, which for most historians is the true forerunner of the modern Napoli. The club changed its name again in 1964, adopting the name Societa Sportiva Calcio Napoli, which it would carry through its glory years in the 1980s to bankruptcy in 2004.
Present owner Aurelio De Laurentiis relaunched the club in 2004 with the name Napoli Soccer and under the football association’s complex rules on club ownership was able to buy back the S.S.C. Napoli name and marks in May 2006.
Miscellaneous: Some studies claim that the club has the fourth-largest fan base in Italy after Juventus, Inter and Milan. Napoli have an estimated six million fans worldwide, due to many decades of largescale emigration from the region from the late nineteenth century onwards.
The team has two nicknames: the Azzurri, after the blue of the team strip, and the Partenopei. Parthenope, founded in the ninth century BC, before the arrival of the Greeks, was the original settlement from which Naples grew.