• Share it:

Changes to 2010 host city names

During a press conference at SAFA House, Johannesburg on 7 August, the local organising committee (LOC) for the 2010 FIFA World Cup South Africa™ announced a number of key decisions including amendments relating to the names of the host cities. The South African government decided to create larger municipalities and metropolitan municipalities, partly in order to consolidate economic and development activities. Three of the original host cities involved in the bid process for the 2010 FIFA World Cup™ have been amalgamated into these new municipalities, and metropolitan municipalities and are now part of larger local authorities. In 2000, Bloemfontein joined Botshabelo and Thaba Nchu as well as two rural councils to form the Mangaung local municipality. Pretoria amalgamated with 13 previous local authorities to form the Tshwane metropolitan municipality. Similarly, Port Elizabeth joined Dispatch and Uitenhage to form the Nelson Mandela Bay metropolitan municipality. This was not taken into consideration in the initial bid for the 2010 FIFA World Cup™, as it was not identified as an issue at the time. FIFA and the LOC have agreed to use a double-barrelled version of the host cities for international purposes. Pretoria will therefore now be referred to as Tshwane/Pretoria, Port Elizabeth as Nelson Mandela Bay/Port Elizabeth and Bloemfontein as Mangaung/ Bloemfontein.