• Share it:

CAF – Confederation Africaine De Football

Frederic Kanoute has been named African Footballer of the Year 2007. The striker, who becomes the second player from Mali after the legendary Salif Keita to receive the topmost individual prize in African football beat last year’s winner Didier Drogba of Cote d’lvoire and Ghana’s Michael Essien to the title. At the ceremony at the Palais des Congres in Lome, Togo on 1 February, an overwhelmed Kanoute dressed all in white walked up to the stage to receive his award from Togo Prime Minister Komlan Mally, who was assisted by CAF President Issa Hayatou. The other award winners were Clifford Mulenga from Zambia (Young Player of the Year), Cynthia Uwak of Nigeria (Female Footballer of the Year), Armine Chermiti from Tunisia (Inter-Club Player of the Year), the late Yemi Telia of Nigeria (Coach of the Year), Etoile du Sahel from Tunisia (Club of the Year), Cote d’lvoire (National Team of the Year) and Ghana Supporters Club (Best Supporters Club).
The 30th CAF General Assembly was held at the International Conference Centre in Accra, Ghana on 17 and 18 January. The first day of the General Assembly was devoted to honouring past football administrators who had contributed immensely to the development of the game in Africa. Saidi El Maamry, Abdel Majid Chetali, the late Camara N’Famara and Lakhdar Belloumi were honoured by CAF for their contribution towards the current state of football on the continent. El Maamry, the former President of the Tanzania Football Federation, N’Famara, the former President of the Guinea football federation and Chetali from Tunisia were presented with the CAF Gold Order of Merit while Belloumi, a member of the national team of Algeria in the 1980s, was awarded the CAF Silver Order of Merit. FIFA President Joseph S. Blatter was the special guest of honour at the event.