• Share it:

AFC Asian Football Confederation

The AFC disqualified Esteghlal Tehran FC of Iran from taking part in the 2007 AFC Champions League for failing to comply with player registration regulations. Esteghlal failed to submit their preliminary player registration forms by the February deadline set by the AFC. This represents a serious breach of Article 30 (F) (i), which governs the competition. The AFC has decided to leave the competition format unchanged and Group B will now comprise Pakhtakor (Uzbekistan), Kuwait Sports Club (Kuwait) and Al Hilal (Saudi Arabia). This decision follows a similar move last year when the AFC disqualified Provincial Electricity Authority and Thailand Tobacco Monopoly (both from Thailand) and Arema Malang and Persipura Jayapura (both from Indonesia) for a similar breach of AFC Champions League regulations.